Short Stories - non fiction

I love and hate housework!

Depending on what I have going on in my life, I can either love doing housework or hate it. It just depends on how much I don’t want to do something else.

For example, many moons ago, when I was in university. I would much rather clean the house and do laundry than write an essay. I would suddenly develop OCD about housework.

However, if I am expecting company and I have to clean the house to make it look presentable, I will find a million and one things to do instead of cleaning. Why is that? Maybe the ideal situation is essay due and company coming? 

When it is going to rain, I look outside and wish the rain would hold off so I can get some yard work done. Yet when it’s sunny, the last thing I want to do is yard work. I actually hate yard work. This is partially because I have a bad back and I associate it with back pain. And yet, nothing gives me more pleasure than a freshly mowed lawn. 

I must say that although I have a love hate relationship with housework, one thing that always makes me happy is when the boys do their part. My son is stepping up a lot these days, he makes me so happy when he helps out. Even a little thing like unloading the dishwasher is huge. It’s why farmers used to have big families, built in laborers. 
Anyway I’d love to keep writing but I have chores to ignore!

2 thoughts on “I love and hate housework!”

  1. My attempts to help with the housework was deemed so subpar, that my 18 yo daughter wrote up a ‘cleanliness manifesto’ that ended with the statement, ‘Dad, you don’t have to do the dishes any more.’ Result!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

