Short Stories - non fiction

Trans Canada Trail


I am very lucky because I can access the Trans Canada Trail by walking across the street. In theory I could hop on the trail and walk across Canada. The other day I walked for half an hour, I was tired by the time I got home.

I had walked 2 kilometers. If I were to walk 2 kilometers a day, it would take me 5 years to get to Vancouver. 

Thinking about such an epic walk reminds me of my childhood. I had a brother who took me for a nature walk one day. We enjoyed the walk so much, he told me that one day we would walk across the country. I thought about that walk often, and I couldn’t wait to be old enough to go with him. I truly believed that we were going to make the trek, and I thought that it would be amazing. I often bragged to my friends “when I am 18, I am going to walk across Canada with my big brother Ken.” 

I was disappointed when he told me that the walk wasn’t likely. I am sure it was something that he didn’t realize I would grab onto and remember.  He was probably just talking in terms of “imagine what it would be like”…..but as a ten year old I took the conversation very seriously. I was ready to go!

Although the walk never happened in reality, it happened in the mind of a 10 year old many times. And for that, I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

