Short Stories - non fiction

Wearing Your Identity 

My son had to write an essay for one of his classes about non-verbal communication. It’s interesting when you think about how what you wear can send a message about who you are.

Sports fans will often communicate which team they support by wearing team paraphernalia. That’s an obvious way of communicating through your apparel. However I found it interesting to learn that the New York Yankees’ chose pinstripes for their uniform back when they were formed, because they wanted to look rich and successful. It is also interesting that the players were  forced to have short hair and be clean shaven. To this day this is part of their identity.

Sometimes people can make the wrong assumptions by something you are wearing. For an while I used this fanny pouch because I found it convenient to keep my hands free from holding a purse. Aside from the fact that it was a total fashion faux pas, people would frequently mistake me for a vendor when I wore that pouch. I would be stopped at a roadside corn vendor looking at the husks of corn and I would hear someone say “how much for a dozen?” I would look around and realize the person was talking to me. It was because of the pouch! 

We all know the expression “dress for the job you want, not the job you have.” A brutal example of this gone wrong was a time I was standing in line at Subway and a girl came in wearing what looked like a baby doll pajama top. She shouted to the people behind the counter “I am looking for a job, I have experience, I worked at a different Subway but I quit because my boss was an asshole.” Um….there was so many things wrong with this job application, I don’t know where to start. 

Do you have a story about your clothing sending the wrong message? I’d love to hear it!

Leave a Reply

