Short Stories - non fiction

Happy Feet, Happy Life


There is nothing worse than sore feet. A few years ago I developed Planters Fasciitis. What is that? It is severe pain in the heal of the foot. At the end of the day I would have difficulty walking because of the pain. It was horrible.

What to do about it? There really isn’t much you can do about this condition except find shoes that are comfortable. I tried everything, and spent a lot of money in the process. 

It has to be one of the seven mysteries of the world. Why oh why don’t shoe companies make comfortable shoes? I mean, we the people of the earth deserve to have pain free feet….don’t we? 

Finally, out of sheer luck, my neighbor was showing me her new shoes. They were a pair of Sketchers, the Go-Walk 3 brand. They were super comfortable (she let me try them on), and they were pretty cute looking shoes.

I happened to mention this to Bruce, and being the kind-hearted man that he is, he went out and bought me a couple of pairs. Eventually I ended up with about 5 pairs of these shoes thanks to dear heart. They are, without a doubt, the best thing that’s happened to my feet.

Last year I discovered that Sketchers makes saddles. Not just plain saddles. Not saddles that a tired old hippy would wear. But saddles with BLING! I immediately bought a pair. Every time I wear these saddles, I get compliments. I don’t have what you would call pretty feet, so not every sandle works for me. I don’t like to show a lot of toe, but the Sketchers saddles are just right for my feet.

It’s a little thing, but having happy feet makes my life better. 

Leave a Reply

