Short Stories - non fiction

Books I couldn’t put down

If you read my blog, I am going to assume that you like to read. So I thought I would share a list of a few of the books that I enjoyed so much that I couldn’t put them down.

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

My friend Karen and I were having a look at a used book store when we came across a copy of The Glass Castle. Karen told me that she had read the book at the cottage, and everyone in her family took turns reading it. So I bought the book, brought it home, opened it up and began reading. I couldn’t put it down. I read the whole book that night. It’s not a long book, but it is really entertaining. The Glass Castle is a true story, a memoir, about Jeannette Walls’ upbringing. She grew up with extremely quirky parents who were dirt poor. When the rent was overdue, and the lights were turned off by the power company, her dad would say “it’s time to skedaddle” and they’d pack up and leave town. Somehow Jeannette survived her upbringing and went on to be a Journalist and a Writer.  Everyone should read this book.

Will Not Attend by Adam Resnick

I was watching Late Night with David Letterman and he endorsed this book. He said that it was extremely funny. Adam Resnick is a writer for the Late Night Show, and he wrote a memoir of sorts. He is an introvert, and he goes to extreme lengths to avoid social interactions, thus the name of the title. The book starts out when Adam is a young boy and he doesn’t want to go to a party, so he starts working on his excuse a week before the party by claiming to have stomach pains. As an adult he continues to feel awkward at social events, and does everything in his power to wiggle out of them.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Loved the humour in it. Some people think that I am funny, if I was to write a memoir I would probably try to write it in a similar style to this book. I highly recommend it. 

Plum Island by Nelson DeMille

This is the first book in a series of books featuring detective John Corey. He is injured, and off duty, and doesn’t really want to be doing police work. But when a murder goes unsolved in the small community where he is staying while he recovers, he can’t help himself. I couldn’t put this book down. It opened the door to a whole host of books written by Nelson DeMille which I gobbled up. The books are fast paced, there is mystery, suspense and romance. Start with Plum Island and you will see what I mean, it’s a real page turner.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

This book is also a real page turner. It has been made into a movie, which I have yet to see. If you like a good crime story, you will enjoy this. It has lots of twists and turns. It is about a woman named Rachel who rides the train to work every day. As she passes by a certain building, she notices a couple and their romantic relationship. She checks on them daily as she passes by on the train, and she imagines what there lives are like, believing they are perfect. However, she finds out that they are far from perfect.   Rachel is a struggling alcoholic who loses her job but pretends to go to work everyday anyway, which is why she takes the train, she eventually finds herself in the middle of a murder mystery.  I really enjoyed this book, it is easy to read and it kept me captivated.

Kane and Abel by Jeffrey Archer

This is the first book of a trilogy, I read this book back in the ’80s but it was so good that I am adding it to my list. Kane and Abel was one of the first books that I read without a teacher telling me that I had to, and it was probably this book that actually turned me into a person who enjoys reading. William Kane is born into wealth, and is a rich banker. Abel Rosnovski is from Poland, he was born into poverty, and experiences great struggles. Abel makes his way to the United States and works his way through school and eventually becomes successful by his own right. The two paths cross, and they are mortal enemies. The book is riveting. I couldn’t put it down, and I went on to read the book 2 The Prodigal Daughter as well. I never did read the third book in the trilogy, but after writing this blog I feel like reading books 1 and 2 over again!

Outlander by Diana Gabaldron

Outlander is the story of a nurse in the 1940’s named Claire Randall. After WWII, she travelled to Scotland with her husband for a second honeymoon. While exploring the countryside, she touches a rock and ends up time traveling to the year 1743. She meets the young and very dapper Jamie Fraser, and he is amazed by her healing powers. I loved this book, I couldn’t put it down. I am now watching Outlander on Netflix, and it is super good also. The only warning that I would give is that there are some scenes which are hard to take, I flipped passed them in the book, and find myself flipping passed them on Netflix. I don’t like anything which is too cruel or disturbing, so I get through it by flipping by. Anyway, this is a great read, and it is part of a series of books by Gabaldron. 

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

I read this book about ten years ago, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. This book was also made into a movie, but I honestly enjoyed the book more. It is the story of a geisha girl in Japan in the 1940’s. Chiyo is taken from her fishing village and sold to a geisha house where she is forced into slave labor. She goes from being treated like dirt, to having extreme power as a geisha, just by her looks and the skills of the trade. It is fascinating. The author did an amazing job at providing insight into the secret world of the geisha. I absolutely loved this book and was sorry when it ended. The story has all of the elements of a great read, I couldn’t put it down.

The Firm by John Grisham

I love most of John Grisham’s books, but for me it all started with The Firm. Mitch MacDeere is lured into a job with a law firm which offers him high pay and lots of perks. After he gets deeply entrenched into the firm, he discovers that there are a lot of shady and illegal activities going on. This book is a real pager turner. If you haven’t read The Firm, and you enjoy a book with lots of mystery and suspense, you should give this book a read.

The Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean M. Auel

This is the first of a series of books set in prehistoric times. It is about a five year old Cro-Magnon  child who gets separated from her family during a major earthquake and is brought up by Neanderthals called The Clan. They take her in, and bring her up. Some members of the Clan treat her like she is an animal, but she finds a way to thrive. It sounds crazy, but it is actually a really good book. I enjoyed it so much that I had to add it to my must read list.

Wild by Cheryl Strayed

This book is the true story of a young woman who decides to hike the Pacific Crest Trail by herself. She is fighting addiction and recovering from the loss of her mother and a broken marriage. This was also made into a movie, which I saw a few times, and also enjoyed. If you haven’t read the book or seen the movie, you should. It’s really quite good.

So that concludes my list of favourite books for today. I hope that you pick up one of these books and enjoy a good read! If there is a page turner that you have read, please let me know. I am always looking for a good book to dig my nose into.

5 thoughts on “Books I couldn’t put down”

  1. Those are all great books and I have read perhaps two thirds on the list. Jean Auel’s series is a standout. My then-girlfriend turned me onto her 20 odd years ago. I had the pleasure of meeting Jean at a book signing for Plains of Passage. I will seek out those titles I have not read for sure! Thx for following Struts and Frets. Disclaimer: I am drawing more than writing these days. Sorry that’s the way my brain wants to roll. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

