Short Stories - non fiction

Confessions of a TV Addict


I have binge watched Netflix so much over the past several months, that I feel I am a bit of a Netflix expert. This is partly because I was off work recovering for several months, and partly because I have always been a TV addict. 

I don’t know where to start when it comes to recommending shows, so I am going to write about shows that I couldn’t stop watching because they were awesome. This list is limited to shows that I have watched on Netflix. 

GREY’S ANATOMY

For years I worked with fans of the show, and I wanted to watch it too. However I could never find time to follow a show that was only on a certain night of the week, plus once I learned of the show it was well into the series, so I would have to start watching without knowing the history. I was running out of shows to watch on Netflix when I noticed Grey’s on the menu. I decided to give it a whirl. I was hooked after episode one. I watched this show so continuously that I actually dreamt that I was on the show. There I was in the operating room with Dr. McDreamy. Anyhow, a bonus about Grey’s is that there are 12 seasons, so it truly is binge worthy. I give Grey’s a thumbs up, it has everything that a great show should have including romance, suspense, humour and drama. I recommend that you try watching episode 1 and see for yourself.

GILMORE GIRLS

I don’t always like the shows that other people do. I find a lot of the humour is lame. So I was quite sceptical about Gilmore Girls. However I was desperate, I needed a new show to binge on, so I reluctantly decided to give it a try. I ended up binging the whole series. What I liked about it was that on top of being entertaining, there was nothing disturbing about it. It was easy to watch, and not at all stressful. It actually is pretty funny, but it also has romance and drama. It’s good. 

HOMELAND

Homeland is probably my favourite Netflix series. It is awesome. It has action, drama, suspense, romance, and mystery. Make sure that you have done your groceries and housework before you start watching because you won’t be able to stop. There are a few scenes were I have to look away, but not enough to be disturbing to the point where I had to turn it off. If you have not watched this show, start watching. You will thank me. I have to admit, I liked this show so much that I watched it twice.

SCANDAL

This is the show I am currently watching, and I am just on season six. The show takes place in Washington DC and is about the constant fight for the Oval Office. It has lots of interesting twists, mystery and romance. If someone is seen as a “problem”, they are eliminated. Murder is an everyday occurrence, and the cast are very good at covering up crime scenes. There are some disturbing scenes, but not enough to make me stop watching. I am enjoying this series and I give it a thumbs up.

DOWNTON ABBEY

I love this show. It is set back in the early 1900’s. The show is about a very rich British aristocratic family and their hired help. The maids and butlers are all jockeying for the top spots in the household. Some of them lie, cheat and steal to serve themselves better. It is awesome. I love the clothing, the scenery, and learning about a very foreign life. The acting is great, and the story line is riveting. 

DEXTER

It’s about a serial murderer who only kills serial murderers. It’s creepy as hell, but I loved this series. It is not as graphic as you might think, but make no mistake it’s all about killing bad guys and hiding their bodies. 

LIFE IN PIECES

The only bad thing about this show is that it only has one season. Life in Pieces is extremely funny. Watch it.

BETTER CALL SAUL

I resisted watching this show for a long time. I think the advertising for the show put me off for some reason. But out of sheer desperation I started watching, and I actually really enjoyed it. The lead character is a sleazy lawyer who can’t help himself from being crooked. I found myself routing for him, hoping he wouldn’t mess up. This show is interesting and entertaining and I was sorry when it ended. 

 

THE GOODWIFE

The acting is great. The main character Alicia Florrick is married to a sleazy politician. During the series she goes from being a stay at home wife of a Governor and mother of two, to having her own career as a lawyer. She learns to stand on her own two feet, and becomes quite successful. I found myself routing for her success. It’s an excellent series. 

SUITS

Another show I decided to try watching because I had run out of options. I was pleasantly surprised. It has lots of drama, romance and interesting plots. There are a lot of sleazy power hungry characters and the storyline has some entertaining twists. I might even watch this one a second time.

THE CROWN

The Crown is about Queen Elizabeth, and how she became queen at a young age. It is a must see for fans of the Royals, but even if you aren’t a Royal watcher, there is a lot of interesting history in this series. The acting is tremendous. I also enjoyed the costumes and scenery. 

So there you have it. I started out thinking that I would pick my top five shows, but couldn’t narrow it down that much. These 11 Netflix series are definitely worth the watch in my humble opinion. 
If you have a favourite Netflix series, I’d love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a TV Addict”

Leave a Reply

