Short Stories - non fiction

Keeping My Inner Nag Quiet

At some point in my adult life I realized that I didn’t like to be idle. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the idea of doing nothing, but actually doing nothing was hard. I eventually figured out the reason behind this turmoil. I had a need for accomplishment. 

So when I was off work for several months this spring, I knew that I would drive myself nuts if I didn’t make myself busy. The problem was that I was sick, and had zero energy. With my need for accomplishment, and no energy, there was a very high probability that I would find myself bored and frustrated.

My inner nag is pesky. I can’t seem to sit down anywhere without seeing what needs to be done. “That is dusty”….”look at those weeds”….”the laundry is piling up”…..blah blah blah. I can’t turn it off.

The solution? Knitting! Knitting takes very little energy, but it seems to occupy the part of my brain that constantly nags at me to be productive. Essentially knitting satisfies my inner nag. 

I figured out that combining knitting with binge watching Netflix, or listening to music is golden. My brain is so busy, there’s no time to bother me about all of the things it thinks I should be doing. 

Years ago I had a boss who had to be off work for a year while he recovered from a heart attack. He learned how to macrame. He made all sorts of things and had them on display at his house. I didn’t quite understand it at the time, but now I get it. He needed to be doing something, and macrame gave him a sense of accomplishment. Macrame kept his inner nag quiet. 

Towards the end of my time off I discovered podcasts. I listened to Stuart McLean and the Vinyl Cafe, and I also listented to The Moth. I listened while knitting. Even if you don’t knit, I would recommend that you take a listen, the short stories are laugh out loud hilarious.  I have often wished that I could find a way to read and knit at the same time, listening to an entertaining podcast while knitting is the solution.  

How do you keep your inner nag off of your back? Do you have a favourite show on Netflicks or a favourite podcast? I’d love to hear from you! 

Leave a Reply

